With Easter coming up next weekend it seems like a good time to investigate what is in one of the most popular Easter candy treats… Peeps.
Personally I’m not that big a fan of Peeps. But I’ve always been intrigued by what they’re made out of. Lucky for you I found out!
This is the description from Vox.com:
In their traditional form, Peeps are shaped like baby chickens and made of a soft marshmallow rolled in colored sugar, with eyes made of edible wax. They are typically sold in packs of five conjoined marshmallows. One serving of Peeps (five pieces) contains 140 calories, no fat, and 34 grams of sugar, which makes sense since their two main ingredients are sugar and corn syrup. Peeps also contain gelatin, which makes them unsuitable for vegans.
And here is the ingredients list from their website: SUGAR, CORN SYRUP, GELATIN, CONTAINS LESS THAN 0.5% OF THE FOLLOWING: POTASSIUM SORBATE (A PRESERVATIVE), NATURAL FLAVORS, BLUE #1, CARNAUBA WAX
I’m still not a fan but at least I now know what they’re made of.